Coronavirus News - 22nd July 2021

Government restrictions have now been lifted but there is still a high incidence of COVID-19 in the area. Please continue to observe social distancing, wear face coverings in our shops and use the hand sanitiser provided

 

Exterior of Briggflats Quaker Meeting HouseInterior of Brigflatts Quaker Meeting HouseFar beyond the boundaries of the Society, it is acknowledged, for all the simplicity of its lime-washed stone walls and interior woodwork panelling, columns and balustrading, as one of England’s vernacular gems. For many, the peace and tranquillity of the Meeting House at Brigflatts leave a lasting impression.

Three and a quarter centuries after George Fox first visited the hamlet of Brigflatts, it is still the home of a Friends’ Meeting. It receives more than 2,000 visitors a year from all over the world, many coming to explore the “1652 Country”, the birthplace of Quakerism.

Visiting groups and individuals regularly join local Friends in worship at the Meeting House on Sunday mornings. Further information is available on the Brigflatts website.

Click here for a description of a beautiful walk from Sedbergh to Brigflatts along the river Rawthey

Combine your visit to Brigflatts with another Quaker landmark – Fox’s Pulpit, 4 miles to the north on Firbank fell. Here, in 1652, George Fox, founder of the Quakers, preached to a congregation of a thousand for three hours from a large rock on the fellside. Some historians consider this sermon to be a turning point in the early Quaker movement.

Fox's Pulpit with fell ponies in foreground

Plaque on Fox's Pulpit